Camping 101: What Do I Need?

Camping Gear

Let’s say we just wrapped up our first trip as noted in my previous post and you had a blast. Hooray! Guess what that means? 1. Welcome to the great outdoors. You’ll be going camping again soon. 2. Now you need your own camping gear because it’s good manners to carry your own stuff! 🙂

If you borrowed some of my (or another friend’s) camping gear on your first trip out, you’ll want to pick up your own version of whatever you borrowed. Whether this means you need some footwear, a sleeping bag, a water bottle, or a backpack, those will be your first key items. A few words of caution: camping gear costs can add up REALLY quickly. Ill-fitting or uncomfortable gear can make or break a trip. REI lets you return even used gear for up to a year after purchase. So get measured and fitted for items like your shoes and pack. You might be able to find a pack secondhand (check eBay, Craigslist, and gear exchange sites) once you find one that fits comfortably. Same goes for a tent, sleeping pad, poles, etc…as people upgrade or outgrow gear, they’re often happy to let it go on new adventures with a new owner. You don’t need to get the top-of-the-line ultralight brand new model of anything if you’re just starting out. I was perfectly fine using my discount store boots and sleeping pad when I started out. I upgraded as my trips got longer and I got more serious about spending time outdoors.

I’d eventually like to upgrade my pack again to get one with a suspension back like Travis’s pack has (because my back gets super sweaty), but it’s hard to find a suspension pack made for someone with as short a torso as I have. I measure an extra-small in women’s pack sizes and can often wear children’s packs. But this is a WANT, not a NEED, for me to enjoy being outside. My Flash suits me just fine for now and it’s been on tons of trips with me, sweaty back and all. As long as your pack fits, you can upgrade later as time and your financial situation permit!

Must-Have Items

  • Sleep system (bag, pad, etc)
  • Tent or hammock
  • Comfortable footwear
  • Comfortable backpack
  • Water bottle
  • First aid kit
  • Food
  • Maps

Really-Awesome-To-Have Items

  • Trowel (for when you gotta go) & TP/baby wipes
  • Water filter
  • Hat/sunscreen
  • Hiking poles
  • Stove/cook system
  • Cooking pot/spork
  • Knife
  • Hat/gloves/puffy, if your hike might get chilly
  • Extra socks
  • Crocs or flip flops
  • Bear bag/rope to hang it

Backcountry Luxuries

  • Sleeping bag liner
  • Sleeping clothes
  • Camera
  • Sleeping clothes

In the coming months I’ll outline my current gear and give my honest opinion of everything I’ve used to help you decide on the best camping gear for your next trip!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started